Directly to navigation - skip meta navigation |
To contents - skip navigation |
To multi purpose bar - skip contents |

Media Studies (Master of Arts)

Media Studies Master of Arts

The Master’s degree programme in Media Studies follows a cultural studies and humanities-based approach. Students enrolled on the programme benefit from collaborations with other on-site degree programmes offering courses in theory, design and the arts. Graduates of the HBK Braunschweig’s Bachelor of Arts in Media Studies, along with graduates of other Media Studies or closely related undergraduate degrees in Germany or abroad, are eligible to apply for the Master’s degree programme.

Students will gain knowledge of all areas of society where media play a part. Equipped with this foundation of advanced knowledge, students will engage in media analysis and media-theoretical reflection. Special weight is given to interdisciplinary perspectives, and to the development of a critical and responsible approach towards new technological developments. The Master’s degree programme benefits from the full range of teaching and research offered at the HBK Braunschweig, incorporating a number of modules from the HBK’s programmes in Art History and Aesthetics and in Design. A broad spectrum of compulsory elective modules means that students can specialise in an area of their choice. In addition, all students take a project module with various theoretical and design-based options, bridging the gap between theory and practice.

What happens after graduation?
Graduates of the Master of Arts in Media Studies go on to work in a variety of different settings, including agencies in the private or public sector, cultural management, media politics, editorial positions, employment in local arts and culture departments or in foundations, journalism, media research or media-related activities in media technology or the arts. Continuing your studies at doctoral level opens up the path to an academic career.

 

Information

Degree programme Master of Arts
Standard period of study 4 semesters
Modules Media Theory and History; Media Analysis; Theory of Technology; Art History and Aesthetics; Transformation Design; Media, Communication and Technology; Practice and Projects
Teaching Language German
Course type Full-time course
Course Commencement Winter semester
Application Period Annually from 1 June to 15 August
Admission Restriction Yes

Entry Requirements

  • Proof of a Bachelor or recognised Bachelor-equivalent degree in Media Studies or a closely-related subject and proof of having obtained at least 52 ECTS credits in areas linked to media-related cultural studies. You can find more guidance at http://medienwissenschaft-studieren.org/
  • Students whose first language is not German require a certificate of German language proficiency.

 

Application process

The application process at the HBK Braunschweig takes place in two stages:
1. Submission of online application via the HBK Braunschweig website
2. Submission of hard copy application with supporting documents by 15 August.
Places on the degree programme are awarded on the basis of your average grade at undergraduate level. In order for the HBK Braunschweig to decide whether the subject studied at undergraduate level is closely related to Media Studies, we recommend that applicants submit a statement of motivation along with a two-page abstract of their final undergraduate thesis with their application. If your undergraduate degree has not yet been awarded by the time the application period closes, we request that you provide a letter from your university attesting your provisional average grades and proof that you have obtained at least 150 ECTS credits.

The Master of Arts in Media Studies is intended for graduates who want to deepen their knowledge of media theory, media history and media analysis through looking at how these intersect with the knowledge cultures of art, design, engineering and social studies while gaining skills in a broad range of media practices.

If you have questions about the Media Studies programme, you can book an advice session with our Media Studies Coordination Office (koordination.mewi@hbk-bs.de).
You can find up to date information on the application process* at
http://bewerben.hbk-bs.de

Note:
*All information is subject to change due to the degree programme’s reaccreditation.

 

 

Last amended by Press and Communication on 26.03.2019

Zur Navigation - Metanavigation überspringen |
Zum Inhalt - Navigation überspringen |
Zur Marginalspalte - Inhalt überspringen |

Medienwissenschaften (Master of Arts)

Der Masterstudiengang Medienwissenschaften ist kultur- und geisteswissenschaftlich ausgerichtet. Er nutzt in besonderem Maße die am Ort bestehenden Kooperationsmöglichkeiten mit anderen wissenschaftlichen, gestalterischen und künstlerischen Studiengängen. Das Masterstudium an der HBK Braunschweig ist nicht nur an den gleichnamigen Braunschweiger Bachelorstudiengang anschlussfähig, sondern ebenso an die übrigen medienwissenschaftlichen Bachelor Studienprogramme in Deutschland sowie vergleichbare internationale Studiengänge.

Die Studierenden erwerben Kenntnisse in allen medienrelevanten gesellschaftlichen Bereichen. Auf der Basis des vertieften medienwissenschaftlichen Wissens werden sie zu grundlegender medienanalytischer und medientheoretischer Reflexion befähigt. Besonderes Gewicht liegt auf interdisziplinären Perspektiven und auf der Förderung von Kritikfähigkeit im Zusammenhang mit einer verantwortlichen Haltung gegenüber technischen Entwicklungen. Die für die HBK charakteristische bildwissenschaftlichgestalterische Schwerpunktsetzung wird durch Studienanteile in den Bereichen Kunstwissenschaft und Design gestützt. Der breit gefächerte Wahlpflichtbereich bietet die Möglichkeit zu individuellen Schwerpunktsetzungen. Brückenbildend zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis wirkt ein Projektmodul mit wechselnden wissenschaftlichen oder gestalterischen Inhalten.

Was kommt nach dem Studium?

Berufsfelder für Absolvent*innen sind freie oder öffentliche Träger, Kulturmanagement, Medienpolitik, redaktionelle Tätigkeiten, Positionen in Kulturämtern oder Stiftungen, im Fachjournalismus und der Medienforschung sowie Aufgaben in den Bereichen der Medientechnik oder Medienkunst. Eine anschließende Promotion öffnet den Weg in eine wissenschaftliche Karriere.

 

Kurzinformationen

 
Abschluss Master of Arts
Regelstudienzeit 4 Semester
Pflichtmodule Medientheorie und -geschichte, Medienanalyse, Techniktheorie, Kunstwissenschaft, Transformation Design, Medienpraxis und Projekte
Unterrichtssprache Deutsch
Studienform Vollzeitstudium
Studienbeginn Wintersemester
Bewerbungstermin jährlich 1. Juni – 15. August
Zulassungsbeschränkung ja

Voraussetzungen

 
  • Nachweis eines Bachelorabschlusses oder eines gleichwertigen Studienabschlusses in einem medienwissenschaftlichen oder fachlich eng verwandten Studiengang (Nachweis von mindestens
    52 Leistungspunkten im Bereich Medienkulturwissenschaften). Orientierungshilfe: http://medienwissenschaft-studieren.org/
  • Studierende aus dem nicht-deutschsprachigen Ausland benötigen einen Sprachnachweis.

 

 

Bewerbung

 

Die Bewerbung an der HBK Braunschweig erfolgt in zwei Schritten:
1. Online-Bewerbung über die Website der HBK Braunschweig
2. Übersendung der Bewerbungsunterlagen bis 15. August, zu denen u. a. ein Abstract zur Abschlussarbeit und ein Motivationsschreiben gehören

Die Vergabe der Studienplätze erfolgt nach der Durchschnittsnote des vorangegangenen Studiums. Zur Einschätzung, ob das vorangegangene Studium fachlich eng verwandt ist, wird empfohlen, den Bewerbungsunterlagen zusätzlich ein Motivationsschreiben und ein zweiseitiges Abstract zur Abschlussarbeit des Erststudiums beizufügen. Wenn bei Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist der Studienabschluss noch nicht vorliegt, ist bei der Bewerbung eine Bescheinigung der Hochschule über eine vorläufige Durchschnittsnote mit dem Nachweis von mind. 150 Leistungspunkten einzureichen.

 

Hinweis

Der Masterstudiengang Medienwissenschaften wendet sich an Absolvent*innen, die ihre erworbenen Kenntnisse in Medientheorie, Mediengeschichte und Medienanalye an der Schnittstelle unterschiedlichster Wissenskulturen von Kunst, Design, Ingenieur- und Sozialwissenschaften mit einem breit gefächerten Angebot an Medienpraxis vertiefen wollen.

Zuletzt bearbeitet von Kommunikation und Medien am 03.02.2017