Directly to navigation - skip meta navigation |
To contents - skip navigation |
To multi purpose bar - skip contents |


The Senate’s role is set out in legislation governing higher education in the State of Lower Saxony (Section 36 (1) Niedersächsisches Hochschulgesetz, NHG), where it is defined as a central governing body of the University. Together with the Steering Committee, it is responsible for the statutes and ordinances of the University, for development planning and for the Equal Opportunities Plan. It must adopt a position on all central issues affecting academic self-governance and has the right to be informed by the Steering Committee on all pertaining matters. Because of its decision-making powers, the Steering Committee is accountable to the Senate in all matters concerning academic self-governance.

To assist it in carrying out its tasks, the Senate may establish boards and committees.

The two-year term of office of the current Senate begins on 1 April 2019 and will end on 31 March 2021 (with the exception of the student members, whose term of office is for one year respectively).

You can find the members on the german website.

Last amended by Press and Communication, Desiree Schober on 02.04.2019